top of page

Blog Post #3

Rhetoric, in my opinion, is one of the most important parts of communicating. When arguing a point, it is pressing to ensure that this argument is presented in the most effective way.

That being said, I was not impressed with the argument that took place on FOX News. While it was clear that each party tried to utilize the three components of the rhetorical triangle, ethos, logos, and pathos, I thought they failed to do so in a distinguished and credible way. I was surprised to see grown, professional people acting like such children on live TV. Maybe it was just because I sided with the liberal argument, but I felt as if the two conservative parties completely shut down everything the liberal side said, if they even let her finish. I feel like an effective argument involves listening and reflecting on the other side before rebutting, and these two people started rebutting before they even heard her whole point. I just don’t understand how someone can think they seem intelligent and valid if they can’t even consider the fact that they might be wrong. I’ve always thought that the most intelligent people are those that know they have lots more to learn, and these people lacked that air. While they appeared to be professional and credible, certainly had passion, and appealed to their audience with their subject matter, overall I found their arguments difficult to listen to and entirely unconvincing. I found them all to seem very ignorant, close-minded, and immature, and would’ve expected much more from people who do that for a living.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page