top of page

Blog Post #5

Haley O’Brien

I would like to inquire into the food industry, and the effects of clean eating vs. eating processed foods. I would also like to examine the meat industry, and the effects that all of these things have on the human body. I would like to focus on the way the media pushes processed foods on us as consumers, especially towards little kids. I chose this topic because it’s interesting to me and something that I’ve always wanted to look into more. I’ve also been trying to be a vegetarian lately and have just been giving this a lot of thought lately. I’ve done a lot of research on my own about the detrimental effects of processed foods on human health, and I’ve seen the results in myself as I’ve gone through my various stages of clean eating and not caring. I am very interested in the way processed foods are marketed towards us so aggressively, yet obesity is considered an epidemic. I am especially interested in how these things are marketed towards kids. I don’t know much about this yet; I do know that clean eating is way healthier, and that it’s also difficult in our society, which is very contradictory to me. I would like to know why, and find out more about food regulations, advertising limits, etc. I’m not sure where I will look yet. I’ve seen a few documentaries that have been really informative that I might watch again, but I’m mostly going to do a lot of internet research. This is just something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately as I’ve been trying to better my own diet, so this seemed like the perfect opportunity to examine it further. I have a lot of questions, like why it’s so much cheaper to eat fast food than a salad, and why it’s okay for McDonald’s to be marketed towards kids, and not something like cigarettes, when they seem pretty equally detrimental to me. A lot of people are bothered by this topic, especially when it comes to meat-eating, so I’ll have to be mindful of all of that as I try to inquire into this project.

Why is the processed food market so big in a nation that is fighting obesity?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page